There Is Power In Being Grateful. Here’s Why?

For most people that reads the quote above are saying What? How can I be grateful for my problems? You dont know what I’ve been through. There is no way I can or will be grateful for them. EVER!

This type of thinking will not only keep you stuck in life it will keep you broke. This type of mindset is making you Ill.Its making you ill spiritually, personally, fianancially and physically. It isnt only making you ill, however it is effecting everyone around you. Unless you surround yourself with people of missery loves company. If thats the case then your miserable together. Unless one wants to leave or both wants to do something different in your lives it will always stay the same. YES YOUR THINKING AND YOUR LIVES.

To all my friends who are reading this right now. You are not made to have this mindset you are not made to live the life you are living. 

Let me explain why? You are made of a dream and that dream is sitting in your heart. There is a bigger purpose for you and you know it. 

The very first feeling you can embrace is to be grateful for your problems. Embrace that everything happens for a reason and you may not know what that reason is and maybe your not suppode,to know.  I don’t have all the answers. 

However, I will share with you a story of how being grateful for all my problems has led me to where I am today. I myself had that crappy, low self- esteem, no confidence have pitty on me please for a long time. I would say the good majority of my life.

I went through every type of abuse from the time I was 3 years old to 37 years old. During this time as you can imagine a lot of things can happen. I suffered a drug problem from 18 to 26. After 26 I got sober moved away from the town I was in, living with a boyfriend of 5 years at that point.  Got married and had my first child at 27. Things went bad shortly after and I started using again. Lost my daughter to get dad. This time took me about 2 years to get sober. That took going to jail for a little over a year.

From 29 to 31. I was out of jail involved with another guy whom I had 2 kids by. Long story short he ended up murdering my youngest daughter and is in prison. 

2 years after she grew angel wings got into another bad relationship. Left him took my middle child to my dad and became homeless.  

Going homeless was the best decision I had made in a very long time. It taught me to be grateful, meeting all of the people and forming relationships with them to hear their stories and what happened in their life. Tradegy is tradegy. There was no comparison from my story from their story. The stories were about loss, greif, and alcohol and or drug abuse. 

As we all grieved in different ways we were all in pain just different stages. With this being said about 4 or 5 months of being out there I started changing my attitude and started changing my attitude. I was listening to Christian music constantly always had my ear bugs in to drown the noise. I was volunteering at both shelters 14 hours a day. I was praying and i was fasting. Nothing was happening in my favor of getting off the street. 
I didnt understand why things were the way they were. However I just kept on praying father please. My goal was to have a job a place to stay and off the streets by June 1st which was 1 year.

During this time on the street the father in heaven and I had a awesome relationship. I could tell you story after story of how he protected me in the simplest ways. He did that because I wasn’t complaining about my life, or the things that have happened to me. I was grateful for them and thanked him every single day with a smile on my face no matter what. 
Fast forward to today. The Lord father in heaven provided me with a place to stay a good job at a cafe making good money by May 26, 2016. I’m still working at the cafe and just landed another job making more money so I can reach my higher goals that have been set.

There is Power in being grateful. It takes time to get to that mindset lots of prayer and building that relationship. I walk by faith I leave everything in the Lord’s hands and I know he will take care of me and meet my needs and that is because I show gratitude for the things,that happened, and I know I’m on my way to something greater.

If you are in a position right now that is just tearing you up. You feel stuck or whatever. Start being grateful for it and know there is a reason it is happening.

Feel free to share your thoughts with me. 
P.S. I still have work to do on myself and things that have to change before I can fully be blessed the way the father wants me to be blessed. Just know he will never forsake you and you’ve already been forgiven. God bless

Leave a comment